Sports made me lose my job

Welcome, Mates! Post here for General Discussions on how thoroughly sports suck. In general.
DanTran

Sports made me lose my job

Post by DanTran »

First an introduction: I've been lurking this forum on and off for a year now, and I just got the balls to register. I like to say that I'm an apprentice of Fat Man (btw, you should write a book). My hatred of sports knows no bounds, and I believe that Fat Man's extremism is necessary in the sport saturated world that we live in.

Anyway, here is my story:

For the past two years I've been working as an accountant for a small company (around 30 employees) that specializes in mobile marketing (we're the ones spamming your cells with text messages :lol: )

Our boss is a nice enough guy, but he's a sport fanatic. In his office there are pictures of football and baseball players, autographed baseballs and a framed jersey. It made me sick when I first saw them, but I needed the job. Tim (his name) tries his best to get all of his employees to spend time with each other outside of the workplace, and he does this by getting us to hang out socially and raise money for charity. (He's pretty young, and he has an incredibly unorthodox management style, one like I have never experienced).

That's great, but here's the deal, it all involves sports!! One of the charities was to help raise money for a youth baseball organization that caters to the physically and mentally disabled. I couldn't believe that they even want to indoctrinate those less fortunate with the evils of sports!! However, much to my chagrin I participated anyway.