Is this man a liar?

Welcome, Mates! Post here for General Discussions on how thoroughly sports suck. In general.
Earl

Is this man a liar?

Post by Earl »

The following is one of the 181 comments at an Anderson Cooper 360 degrees blog dated April 23, 2009. I wasnâ??t able to copy and paste this comment (dated April 24, 2009, 2:10 a.m. ET), which was posted by â??J Angeloâ?; so, I printed a copy of the text, which Iâ??ve typed up in this post. Iâ??ve taken the liberty to correct wrong spelling, punctuation, and spacing; but the wording is still verbatim. If I had the time, I would copy many other similar messages on other web pages devoted to the issue of bullying.

I myself many years ago in the middle 6os experienced this behavior directed to me for most of my junior high and high school years. I was an art student, slim and not very good at athletics. I was called gay, fag, homo, etc. almost every day. This, along with frequent beatings and harassments, made me very aware of how to survive in such a hostile atmosphere. My parents did their best to protect me, informing school officials; but that did little in those years to stop the terror.

There were some sympathetic teachers who understood the problem, and their classrooms were havens where you had a safe environment free of fear.